How to change the way emails are deleted in Android’s Gmail app

0
SHARE
Picture: Jack Wallen

In case your cell electronic mail app of selection is Google’s official Gmail app, then you definitely may need discovered the administration of deleted emails to not be of your liking. You’re in both of two camps:

  • While you delete an electronic mail, you need it completely deleted.
  • While you delete an electronic mail, you need it archived—simply in case.

There are execs and cons with every. For those who delete an electronic mail, it will not sit round taking on area. On the flip aspect, when you do delete an electronic mail, it is gone for good. If, however, you archive an electronic mail, it should take up valuable area in your Google account. Nonetheless, if there comes a degree when it’s essential to entry the knowledge in that electronic mail, you possibly can head over the archive and retrieve that essential knowledge.

For those who comb by your archive, you may in all probability be stunned at how a lot is there. If that is a difficulty for you, you may be glad to know it is doable to vary the default conduct on the Android app, such that Gmail now not archives whenever you delete an electronic mail, however truly deletes it.

Or, when you’re shocked to seek out out your archive is empty, you may be relieved to know you possibly can set that conduct such that deleting an electronic mail truly archives mentioned electronic mail.

Let me present you ways. I will be demonstrating on an Important PH-1 , utilizing the latest replace of Google’s Gmail app (on Android 7.1.1).

Configuring electronic mail deletion

The one caveat to this configuration is that you just can’t configure it on a per-account foundation. The deletion motion is configured “app-wide,” so whenever you set the choice, it’s going to apply to all accounts. Open up the Gmail app. Faucet the menu button within the higher left nook (three horizontal traces), after which faucet Settings. Inside the Settings window, faucet Common settings. Within the ensuing window (Determine A), faucet Gmail default motion.

Determine A

Figure A

The Gmail Common settings window.

Within the ensuing popup (Determine B), choose both Archive or Delete, whichever fits your wants.

Determine B

Figure B

Your selection…archive or delete.

As soon as you have made your choice, again out of the settings window and into the Gmail app. You’re good to go. Simply bear in mind, this configuration will apply to all the accounts you may have inside the Gmail app.

Your selection

Do not let that account refill. Or do not lose necessary knowledge just because you may have an itchy delete finger. Whether or not it’s essential to completely take away learn emails or archive them, Gmail has you coated with a easy setting.

https://www.techrepublic.com/article/how-to-change-the-way-emails-are-deleted-in-androids-gmail-app/

LEAVE A REPLY